Monthly Archives: December 2012

Odyssey Festival Schedule

opaf2012poster

The 2012 Odyssey Performance Art Festival
presents
The End of the World and After Party
December 21 and 22, 2012

live on the Odyssey Contemporary Art and Performance Simulator in Second Life
and at participating meat spaces:
Museum Sorgdrager, Ameland, the Netherlands
Black Bag Media Collective Studio, St. John’s, Newfoundland
Open Space, Victoria, Canada

FRIDAY DECEMBER 21
* 10 AM SLT/2:30 PM NFLD Time/7 PM Netherlands Time
Avatar Orchestra Metaverse in concert – Live also at Museum Sorgdrager, Ameland, the Netherlands and at the Black Bag Media Collective Studio, St. John’s, Newfoundland.’
* 11 AM SLT/3:30 NFLD Time/8 PM Netherlands Time
haglet alter’s “Grass Conversations” – with Wirxli II/Jeremy Turner and Alex De Jong. Live also at Museum Sorgdrager, Ameland, the Netherlands and at the Black Bag Media Collective Studio, St. John’s, Newfoundland.
* 12 noon SLT– Wafa Bourkhis – “Re-Birth”
* 1 PM SLT – Selavy Oh – “the true artist tries to save the world by slowing down time”
break
* 3 PM – Alan Sondheim and Sandy Baldwin – “Mathesis”
* 4 PM SLT – STELARC – OUT OF BREATH / OUT OF TIME – with assistance from Pyewacket Kanyanenko and Jo Ellsmere (11 AM Melbourne Time, December 22)
* 5:00 PM SLT/10 PM NFLD Time
Second Front – Second Front Ends the World – live also at Open Space, Victoria Canada and at the Black Bag Media Collective Studio St. John’s Newfoundland.

SATURDAY DECEMBER 22
* 4 AM SLT/8:30 AM NFLD Time/1 PM Netherlands Time
haglet alter’s “Grass Conversations” with Wirxli II/Jacquelene Drinkall and Gijs Van Hesteren. Live also at Museum Sorgdrager, Ameland, the Netherlands and the Black Bag Media Collective Studio, St. John’s, Newfoundland.
* 5 AM SLT – Jo Ellsmere and Pyewacket Kazyanenko – “minimal glitch”
break
* 2:00 PM SLT – Xisuthra Lomu/Erik Rzepka
* 3 PM SLT- Patrick Lichty/Man Michinaga “Dinner Theatre of Cruelty”
* 4 PM SLT/8:30 NFLD Time – Liz Solo – “Hybrid Dancer”
* 5 PM SLT – Afterparty with DJ Jce Emoto of DFM.NU http://dfm.nu/
Also on site throughout the festival Jo Ellsmere’s “ANIMAanimus” installation – and
“Happy Birthday Fluxus; Happy End of the World” – Installation by Second Front – Exhibit A

Special thanks to Ze Moo.

Tagged ,

2012 Odyssey Performance Art Festival

The 2012 Odyssey Performance Art Festival (The End of the World Festival)
happens December 21st and 22nd live on Odyssey
with participating Meat Spaces in St. John’s Newfoundland, Victoria Canada and Ameland, the Netherlands.

December 21st – The End of the World
December 22nd – The End of the World After Party

Featuring performances from Second Front, Stelarc, Alan Sondheim, Jo Ellsmere, Kai Steamer, Haglet Alter, Selavy Oh, Patrick Lichty, Liz Solo, Wirxli II, Avatar Orchestra Metaverse, Alex De Jong, Jce Emoto/DFM and more to be announced soon. Stay tuned for announcements of the schedule.

The Odyssey Contemporary Art and Performance Simulator is devoted to performance art in virtual space and to providing resources for facilitating trans or hybrid reality performances and conversations. Odyssey island in Second Life provides studio space and resources to working performance artists and a venue for the presentation of new work. Every year Odyssey presents a festival to highlight work being done with performance art in virtual spaces.

Taking place on Odyssey in Second Life
with participating meat spaces –
Black Bag Media Collective Studio, St. John’s, Newfoundland
Museum Sorgdrager in Ameland, the Netherlands
Open Space in Victoria, Canada